There are 11 PGA Tour players who either live here, grew up here or played golf for UNLV. The eleven have varying degrees of status on the PGA Tour, but all will play in many events this year, and after the first few events in the new PGA Tour playoff system, the Las Vegas golf pros are all over the place in the point standings. And if you count three-time Las Vegas Invitational champion Jim Furyk and defending Open champ Troy Matteson as having Vegas golf ties, then we have 13 pros representing the city every weekend.

Charley Hoffman, who won the Bob Hope Chrysler Classic earlier this year, is number 8 on the FedEx Cup points list. He is followed by Jim Furyk at 12, and Adam Scott, who is also ranked number 4 in the world rankings, stands at number 19.

All of these PGA Tour pros play or have played golf in Las Vegas on the best courses including Bali Hai Golf Club, Rio Secco Golf Club, Reflection Bay Golf Club, Las Vegas National, TPC Canyons and many more.

Book your Las Vegas golf course tee time or golf package … now.

Chad Campbell, fresh from his fourth-place finish at the Accenture Match Play in Arizona, is number 33 in points, but jumped from his spot at 124 entering the last week's event.

Defending Open champ Troy Matteson is at number 41 while Dean Wilson is number 60, Ryan Moore is number 86, and Tommy Armour III is number 109.

Skip Kendall stands in a tie for number 125 followed by Craig Barlow at 145, Chris Riley at 153, Robert Gamez at 167 and Bob May at number 195.

The Regular Season will consist of 36 events in 33 weeks from the beginning of January to the middle of August. Players will accumulate FedExCup points which will determine their seeding for the PGA TOUR Playoffs for the FedExCup. All regular season events have a point total, with certain events–like the majors–accounting for additional points. Official PGA Tour events played opposite World Championship events also have a points pool available to players.

The Playoffs–or FedEx Cup–will consist of four events between late-August and mid-September. These four events will determine the winner of the FedExCup. In addition, the top 30 finishers will be guaranteed exemption for the following year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *