April 18, 2010–UNLV junior Therese Koelbaek earned All Mountain West Conference honors for the third-straight year, but her team couldn't battle back to take the conference tournament title for what would have been the 4th time in school history. Koelbaek finished 8th, UNLV 4th, and New Mexico won its second-straight title. UNLV and staff report.

The Rebels shot a three-round scores of 308-305-315–+64, and they were paced by junior Therese Koelbaek, who tied for eighth with a total of 76-76-77–+13. Koelbaek, who was the only UNLV player in the top 10 on the leader board, was named to the All-MWC team for the third consecutive year. New Mexico won the tournament title with a team score of +34, which was good for a nine-stroke victory over TCU, which recorded a +43 total. Colorado State came in third with a +50, followed by UNLV. Jodi Ewart took home medalist honors with a 1-over 217, and the Lobo senior was also named the 2010 MWC Player of the Year.

UNLV junior Alejandra Guacaneme finished 15th overall with a 232 (+16), sophomore Kristen Schelling and junior Mandi Incorvaia tied for 19th with scores of 235 (+19) and senior Natasha Krishna tied for 24th with a 238 (+22). For complete results of the MWC Women's Golf Championship, go to UNLVRebels.com. UNLVRebels.com is the home of all UNLV sports.

The 2009-10 MWC Women's Golfer of the Year was Jodi Ewart, Sr., New Mexico. The 2009-10 MWC Women's Golf Freshman of the Year was Christine Wong, San Diego State. The 2009-10 MWC Women's Golf Coach of the Year was Angie Larkin, TCU. The 2009-10 Women's Golf All-Mountain West Conference Team was Kasey Claussen, Sr., Colorado State;
Jodi Ewart, Sr., New Mexico; Rebecca Hellbom, So., New Mexico; Christine Wong, Fr., San Diego State; Brooke Beeler, So., TCU; Valentine Derrey, Sr., TCU; Rachel Raastad, So., TCU; Therese Koelbaek, Jr., UNLV.

The tournament had four individuals record eagles over the 54-holes, including one each from BYU's Shayla Forsey, New Mexico's Jodi Ewart, TCU's Rachel Raastad and UNLV's Mandi Incorvaia. Raastad, New Mexico's Rebecca Hellbom and UNLV's Therese Koelbaek, led the tournament with nine birdies each, while TCU's Brooke Beeler collected the most par holes with 39. UNLV, ranked 37th by GolfStat entering the tournament, now awaits the NCAA regional invite list to see if they have qualified for a spot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *