Las Vegas, Nevada (May 26, 2011)–The neat thing about most halls of fame is that they bring together diverse people and organizations that share a common passion, even if their particular discipline, while related as a whole, might be different when take separately. Such is the case with the Class of 2011 of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame where a long driver, a PGA Tour player, and female amateur will take center stage upon induction in September 2011. –By Brian Hurlburt.

The Class of 2011 is the following: the Owner/CEO of Long Drivers of America and an LDA Hall of Famer, Art Sellinger; PGA Tour veteran Craig Barlow who has made more than 150 cuts and earned more than $5 million in his career; and Laurie Johnson, a longtime amateur in the state of Nevada who is regarded as one of the best female golfers in the area. Each are separate standout performers under the golf umbrella but now are joined together forever as inductees in the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame. Soon their stories will be hung beside previous inductees at the musem-quality exhibit in the club house of Las Vegas National Golf Club, home of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame.

Want to play the official home course of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame? Click now for the official website and to learn about the VIP Players Card for discounts and upgrades. Also reserve your official Las Vegas golf tee times and Las Vegas golf packages.

The Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame committee also announced the third annual Classic Pro-Am event, which takes place on Monday, June 27th at Las Vegas National Golf Club with a 7:30 AM shotgun start. The Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame Classic Pro-Am pairs each foursome with a PGA of America professional, and is open to the public. The event promises to attract a who’s who of golfers including many inductees of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame. Teams of four players plus a professional are $575 or individual players are $125. Entry fees include lunch, prizes, an official shirt and more. The professional division will be playing for the John DiFloure Cup and cash.  For more tournament information or to register, please visit or call Joe Kelly at 702-343-1890.  The class of 2011 will be inducted during a special ceremony on September 27 at the Palms Hotel. Public nominations for the Class of 2012 can be made by visiting

About the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame: The mission of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame is to celebrate and bring awareness to players, administrators, benefactors, groups, instructors, teams, and other worthy golfers who have served the game of golf in Las Vegas in a positive and meaningful way; whether through performance on the course, volunteerism, financial support, promotion, or other dedicated service. An additional aspect of the mission is to help reveal Las Vegas as a great golf destination. A 16-person committee made up of Las Vegas golf professionals, media, amateur association leaders, and Hall of Fame members, oversees the voting process. The annual induction ceremony takes place during the week of the PGA Tour’s Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. A museum-quality exhibit featuring an in-depth Las Vegas golf time line, historic photos, and a special area honoring the Las Vegas Founders that features the official trophies used by Las Vegas’ PGA Tour and Champions Tour events is located in the clubhouse of Las Vegas National Golf Club. The museum is open and free to the public during regular Club hours.

Current members of the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame and class in which each was inducted are:  Tommy Armour III, 2008; Charlie Baron, 2010; Jerry Belt, 1991; Jimmie Bullard, 2009; Helen Cannon, 2004; James Cashman, Jr., 1998; Clyde Cobb, 1991; James Colbert, 2002; Eddie Draper, 2004; Eric Dutt, 2008; Brady Exber, 2006; Edward Fryatt, 2009; Las Vegas Founders, 2004; Robert Gamez, 2002; Butch Harmon, 2006; Ernest Haupt, 1998; Richard Huff, 2004; Joe Kelly, 2010; Dwaine Knight, 2009; Louis Redden, 2008; Stuart Reid, 1991; Chris Riley, 2004; Jerry Roberts, 2008; Jack Sheehan, 2009; Tom Storey, 2006; Charlie Teel, 1991; Tournament of Champions, 2010; 1997-98 UNLV Golf Team, 2002; C. Pat Walker, 1998.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *