Las Vegas, Nevada (May 3, 2012)–For several years, Las Vegas' Rio Secco Golf Club has hosted the Western Athletic Conference Golf Championships. And in 2012, San Jose State walked off the fabulous Rees Jones design as the champions. San Jose State's Jay Myers was the individual champion. –By Brian Hurlburt with WAC press release.

The Spartans carded a three-round total of 876 to win by six strokes over New Mexico State. Myers, the San Jose State senior, won the individual title after scoring a birdie on the first sudden death playoff hole to defeat New Mexico State's Justin Shin. Myers shot a 1-under par 71 in the final round to card a 5-under 211 for the three rounds. Idaho's Sean McMullen was third at even par (216).

Las Vegas golf course Rio Secco is a resort course owned and operated by Caesars Entertainment. You, too, can play where the best college golfers in the country tee it up. Click now to view the official website of Rio Secco Golf Club.

"We had a better level of focus," said San Jose State head coach John Kennaday in a release on the school's official website. "We just played the golf course. We fought hard and we won.It took a whole team effort. This is a very tough golf course. The 11th through 16th holes can really come back and bite you hard."

In the rest of the team competition, New Mexico State was second (882) and Fresno State was third (886). Idaho finished fourth at 892, Louisiana Tech was fifth at 902, Nevada placed sixth (909), Hawai‘i seventh (911) and Utah State finished eighth at 919.

"We played #1 which was 406 yards down wind," Myers told the website about the playoff. "I hit my driver to the back of the green, 30 feet away from the hole. My (first) putt went 4-feet past. Then, I hit it straight up hill for a birdie." 

Also announced were the all-WAC teams and top awards. San Jose State's Myers was voted the WAC's Player of the Year by the eight head coaches. Freshman of the Year honors went to Idaho's Sean McMullen and Coach of the Year honors went to John Kennaday of San Jose State.

2011-12 Awards

First Team All-WAC
Justin Shin, Jr., New Mexico State
Kevin Lucas, Sr., Nevada
Jay Myers, Sr., San Jose State
Jarred Bossio, Sr., Idaho
T. J. Kua, Sr., Hawai‘i

Second Team All-WAC
Zachery Fullerton, Sr., New Mexico State
Matt Hovan, Sr., San Jose State
Gaston De La Torre, Sr., New Mexico State
Cory Oride, Jr., Hawai‘i
Cody Blankenship, Sr., Louisiana Tech    

Player of the Year: Jay Myers, Sr., San Jose State
Freshman of the Year: Sean McMullen, Idaho
Coach of the Year: John Kennaday, San Jose State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *