Las Vegas, Nevada (April 29, 2013)–The world's top golf instructor, Butch Harmon, welcomed the players in the 2013 Club Glove WAC Golf Championships to Las Vegas and the Rees Jones-designed Rio Secco Golf Club. Harmon, who operates the Butch Harmon School of Golf at Rio Secco, spoke to the golfers and coaches on Sunday evening, prior to the first round which was played Monday April 29. New Mexico State grabbed the first round lead. –-By Brian Hurlburt Follow @LVGolfInsider

Rio Secco has played host to the WAC Golf Championships for several years, and the coaches and golfers love the neutral setting and quality of the golf course. Rio Secco also plays hosts the annual Wendy's 3-Tour Challenge, an event which pits 3-player teams from the PGA Tour, LPGA Tour, and Champions PGA Tour against each other in a team competition. Among the players who have competed in that event are Nick Price, Natalue Gulbis, Bubba Watson, Cristie Kerr, and many other of the game's top stars.

Want to play Rio Secco, just like the best in the game? Click now to the official Rio Secco website where you can reserve your tee times in Las Vegas direct with course management. The sister course to Rio Secco Golf Club is Cascata, another beautiful Rees Jones golf courses. Both of these Las Vegas golf courses are owned and operated by Caesars Entertainment. The Butch Harmon School of Golf is open to all all golfers. Click to official website of the Butch Harmon School of Golf. The School is offering a special college golf combine  December.

The 51st annual Club Glove Western Athletic Conference men's golf championship is April 29-May 1 at the 7,313-yard, par-72 Rio Secco Golf Club in Henderson, Nevada. San Jose State won last year with a six-stroke victory over four-time defending champion New Mexico State. Newcomer Denver the WAC in scoring average with 291.8 strokes per round with San Jose State in second (292.4). Last year's second place finisher Justin Shin of New Mexico State returns and is third in the WAC in stroke average with 72.80 per round.  Denver's Ole Ramsnes leads the WAC in that category (72.41).  Five individuals from the WAC have claimed titles this year: Idaho's Gordon Webb, Louisiana Tech's Travis Wilmore and Victor Lange, Texas State's Torbjorn Johansen and Utah State's Tanner Higham. See below for video from New Mexico State Head Coach Mike Dirks.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *