Las Vegas, Nevada (May 19, 2013)–UNLV Golf is back. For many years, it was a sure thing that the UNLV Men's Golf team would end a season by playing in the NCAA Golf Championships. In fact, the team had competed in 12-straight finals in a run from 1989-2000, and 14 of 15 through 2003. But recently, the Rebels, coached by Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame member Dwaine Knight, had a different streak going. They had missed the Final for 2-straight years and five of the previous six. But the Rebels finished 4th in the 2013 Columbus Regional to qualify for the 18th NCAA Finals in school history. The Rebels also made a 25th-straight appearance in a regional, which is the NCAA record. –By Brian Hurlburt. Follow @LVGolfInsider

“We were pretty happy for a couple days," UNLV head coach Dwaine Knight said on going into the final round in the lead. "Today we came out a little tight and started thinking about how we haven’t advanced to the finals in a couple years, so it was nice to get this team going.” The UNLV men’s golf team shot a final-round 10-over-par 294 on Saturday and finished fourth at the 2013 NCAA Columbus Regional, which was played at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course (par 71, 7,286 yards).

The Rebels were led by sophomore Carl Jonson who finished tied for seventh at 3-over 216 after a final-round 5-over 76. Other Rebels: freshman AJ McInerney tied for 18th at 7-over 220 after a final-round even-par 71, senior Kevin Penner tied for 34th at 10-over 223 after a final-round 3-over 74, sophomore Kurt Kitayama tied for 37th at 11-over 224 after a final-round 2-over 73 and junior Nicholas Maruri tied for 43rd at 12-over 225 after a final-round 6-over 77.

There were a total of six 54-hole regional tournaments. The Columbus Regional consisted of 13 teams and 75 individuals. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each of the regionals advanced to the NCAA Championship finals, which will be played May 28-June 2 at The Capital City Club, Crabapple Course in Atlanta. Georgia Tech is the host institution for this year’s national championship. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *