Las Vegas, Nevada (July 29, 2013)–Some of the top girl amateur golfers from the Las Vegas Golf Region are competing in the highly-acclaimed Girls America's Cup this week in Albuquerque, New Mexico, at The Championship Course at the University of New Mexico. The golfers representing the area are Ciara Clark, Mercedes Khumnark, Sarah Paravia, and Julia Becker, along with Captain Toby Bolton. Click now for more information about the America's Cup. –By Brian Hurlburt, Follow @LVGolfInsider.

The elite junior championship includes representatives and teams from 18 different golf associations and PGA Sections throughout the western parts of Canada, Mexico, and the United States facing off in team competition. The Championship is a team competition featuring four-person teams facing off in stroke-play competitions while representing their Association or Section. In years past, the Cup has seen names like Lorena Ochoa and Pat Hurst while becoming a hot-spot for college golf coaches to do their summer recruiting. The team from Southern Nevada is made up of golfers from the Southern Nevada Junior Golf Association which is operated by The First Tee of Southern Nevada.

The Girls JAC is a 54-hole competition with teams counting three scores and throwing out the team's highest score. The event also includes a practice round, opening and closing ceremonies, a tournament banquet and a social event. Being chosen to represent your state/country to play in the Girls Junior America's Cup is one of the highest honors in girls' junior golf.

The Girls Junior America’s Cup was established in 1978 under the leadership of Joan Teats and the first tournament was conducted at Tumwater Valley Golf Course in Olympia, Wash. 11 teams participated that first year including Alberta, Arizona, British Columbia, Idaho, Northern California, Northern Nevada, Oregon, San Diego, Southern California, Southern Nevada and Washington.  In the second year, teams from Colorado, Mexico, Montana and Utah jumped on board.  Later, in 1985, Hawaii became a member of the championship along with the Sun Country (New Mexico & West Texas) in 1990.  Finally, Wyoming completed the 18-team event in 1991.  Each team consists of the top four girls from each State/Country.  These golfers exemplify outstanding skill and experience, true sportsmanship, discipline, courtesy and strength of character.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *