Las Vegas, Nevada (June 7, 2015)–For the fourth consecutive year, the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame Night of Induction will be the first official event of PGA TOUR week in Las Vegas. The event is scheduled for Friday, October 16, at The Hill at TPC Summerlin and kicks off the annual Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. The new inductees for 2015 are Las Vegas Golf and Tennis Founder Voss Boreta (1934-2013), lifetime volunteer Barbara Christensen, Golf Channel analyst Jerry Foltz, and top amateur Doug Pool. The first official event of the year for the HOF is the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame Classic Pro-Am on June 29 at the Top 100 Cascata. Both events are open to the public and tickets are available at — By Brian Hurlburt.

“Four years ago, the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open and the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame started an important partnership that I’m thrilled to continue and be a part of,” said Patrick Lindsey, Tournament Director for the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.  “This partnership helps kick off what is always a memorable week of golf activities in Las Vegas and the perfect opportunity for the Las Vegas Golf Community to reflect on the incredible history the game of golf has given this region.  I congratulate the new inductees on this incredible honor and thank them for their dedication to the game of golf.”

The 2015 inductees join a long list of deserving golfers with strong ties to the Las Vegas golf region who have been previously inducted. That list includes Butch Harmon, Ryan Moore, Charley Hoffman, Stephanie Louden, Dwaine Knight and the 1998 National Championship UNLV Golf team among others. Jim Colbert, one of the founders of the 1983 Las Vegas PGA TOUR event that blossomed into what is now the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open, is also a Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame member.

Class of 2015

Voss Boreta (1934-2013) was a longtime resident of Las Vegas who made an international impact on the golf retail business. From a small shop in Las Vegas where he utilized an ad in Golf Digest, he created the Las Vegas Golf and Tennis retail empire which at one time included 70+ locations and revolutionized the golf mail order business. He also created what is now the TaylorMade Golf Experience and was a benefactor to aspiring professionals including Edward Fryatt, a xxxx inductee into the Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame.

Barbara Christensen is one of the longest-standing and most distinguished amateur golf volunteers in the history of the Las Vegas Golf Region. She began volunteering for Las Vegas golf organizations in the early 1960s and was named an honorary member of the public Las Vegas Golf Club in 2007 in recognition of her decades-long service. She also served as a United States Golf Association rules official and was the 1991 Women’s Southern Nevada Amateur Champion in 1991.

Jerry Foltz currently serves as a lead golf analyst with Golf Channel, but his roots in golf date back to Las Vegas. He grew up in Southern Nevada and was one of the best junior golfers in the history of the city. He represented the city in the America’s Cup tournament prior to attending college at the University of Arizona where he was an all-conference selection in 1984. He turned professional in 1990, but unfortunately three days later sustained a serious back injury that hampered his playing career. He won the 1995 Nike Tour (now the South Carolina Classic and played in seven PGA TOUR tournaments in his career.

Doug Pool is one of the best amateur golfers in the history of Las Vegas, and continues to play a very active schedule as a senior player. He is a three-time Southern Nevada Golf Association major winner and has won multiple other SNGA tournaments. He also is a multiple winner of the Golfweek Senior Amateur and has competed in the United States Senior Amateur. He also finished as the runner-up in the 2012 British Senior Amateur.

Previous Las Vegas Golf Hall of Fame Inductees with Class Year:  Frank Acker, 2014; Tommy Armour III, 2008; Craig Barlow, 2011; Charlie Baron, 2010; Jerry Belt, 1991; Jimmie Bullard, 2009; Helen Cannon, 2004; James Cashman, Jr., 1998; Clyde Cobb, 1991; James Colbert, 2002; Mike Davis, 2015; John Difloure, 2014; Eddie Draper, 2004; Eric Dutt, 2008; Brady Exber, 2006; Edward Fryatt, 2009; Brenda Knott, 2013; Las Vegas Founders, 2004; Robert Gamez, 2002; Butch Harmon, 2006; Ernest Haupt, 1998; Charley Hoffman, 2012; Richard Huff, 2004; Laurie Johnson, 2011; Joe Kelly, 2010; Dwaine Knight, 2009; Stephanie Louden, 2015; Bob May, 2013; Don “Mac” McCoy, 2012; Ryan Moore, 2012; Ray Norvel, 2013; Louis Redden, 2008; Stuart Reid, 1991; Chris Riley, 2004; Jerry Roberts, 2008; Art Sellinger, 2011; Jack Sheehan, 2009; Tom Storey, 2006; Charlie Teel, 1991; Tournament of Champions, 2010; 1997-98 UNLV Golf Team, 2002; Valley View Golf Club, 2012; C. Pat Walker, 1998. Bill Walters, 2013.